Ia ia Cthulhu fhtagn!

cthulhu-2.jpg

This post about Sherlock Holmes taking on the Olde Ones reminds me that it’s time to dust off my old book of Cthulhu carols. On a related note, check out what these Japanese fishermen found.

Meanwhile. Louis Hau makes a bold prediction about the future of newspapers.

26 responses to “Ia ia Cthulhu fhtagn!

  1. Midian and flames

    What’s “Ia Ia Cthulhu Fhtagn!”??

  2. Clayton, Master of Trivia

    For those too lazy to read the entry:

    Cthulhu is one of H.P. Lovecraft’s “Old Ones”: Cthulhu himself is a sort of god-priest for other gods, and resurrects them all to serve him (and enslave/destroy/make anew humanity) when he reawakens.

    As far as I can tell, Iä (as it’s correctly spelled) has no literal meaning. It’s sort of a cry, like saying “Oh” when praying, except Iä seems to be used to call attention, while Oh is used to show reverence.

    fhtagn is the last word in the following quote from Lovecraft’s short story “Call of Cthulhu”:
    “Ph’nglui mglw’nafh Cthulhu R’lyeh wgah’nagl fhtagn”, which the story itself translates to “In his house at R’lyeh dead Cthulhu waits dreaming.”
    So, fhtagn either means “wait” or “dream” in the progressive tense.

    So, long post short…
    Iä! Iä! Cthulhu Fhtagn! = Hey! Hey! Cthulhu waits! /Cthulhu dreams!

  3. I’a means ‘Yes.’

  4. Ia Ia Cthulhu Fhtagn!
    means : yes, yes Cthulhu sleeps (dreams).

    It’s a ritual shouting of the masses when the high-priest tells that cthulhu is only sleeping in R’lyeh and waiting to come back.

    It’s also used as a greeting for other believers.

  5. For Axel and Kevin, please post how you determined that “ia” means yes. I am not concerned about honesty, merely answers. For also, IO, in Latin, means “HEY!” Which was mentioned earlier in this post. The word “IO” is a name in Greek mythology as well. If H. P. Lovecraft had any knowledge of Latin (or Aleister Crowley’s poetry) I would be almost certain that “Ia” and “Io” were related in meanings as well as spellings.

    Michael

  6. I love lovecraft

  7. William Bancroft

    I’m pretty sure the correct translation is “Lord, Lord how I wish I had a real girlfriend.”

  8. this appears in one of my songs.

  9. The finnish band Deathchain have also used lots and lots of Lovecraftian texts in their songs.
    The Ancient And The Vile, Awaken…Horrors Of This Earth, Valley Of The Corpses, Titans Of Black Earth, Serpent Of The Deep and Incantations Of Shub-Niggurath. Those are the ones I´ve spotted out, and I think they call themselves Lovecraftian Death Metal? Anyone else heard of them?

  10. Very happy to come across this discussion and see people sharing their knowledge.

  11. You people and your concept of this topic make me want to vomit… The only person close is Michael Cook. Iä! is also seen and related as “IO!”, “IAO!”, JAH”, and “EA”, is pronounced: “EE-YA” and directly translated, Iä! means: “Lord of Waters”
    If any of you idiots want to dispute me, please, before you do, spend 8$ at a bookstore and buy the Necronomicon, the book where that phrase came form, and look it up.

    • Really? A discussion on the meaning of words from a fictional language makes you want to vomit?

      You have issues, friend.

      • He’s right, Ea was a Sumerian deity and lord of waters. H.P. Lovecraft, despite being an atheist, was well versed in ancient pagan religions and drew heavily upon them when constructing his mythos.

    • The Necronomicon was a fictional book, and as such any Necronomicon found in stores is entirely fan fiction. The whole mythos is open to interpretation and creative license.

  12. Sorry, that should be “EE-YAH” I believe, “EE” like it sounds, the letter “E”, and “YAH” is like a German saying yeah.

  13. I think you’ll find that the best alternative translation is: “OMG! OMG! Troll Alert!”

  14. I was googling around for a cthulhu design and I found this page. I really want to get that as a tattoo. What is that image above called? Can I find it somewhere else higher res? Please, Please, Please let me know.

    You can email or facebook me – either way I’d really appreciate it if i could get a hold this thing.

    Tom.massengill@gmail or facebook.com/tyr1n

  15. To Twitch : the Necronomicon DOESN’T exist, you idiot …

  16. It doesn’t really matter what it means, does it? I mean Cthulhu is still going to swallow your soul regardless whether you are a cultist or not. Still Fail Also, he will eat your mom, but in an entirely different way

  17. Regarding the pronounciation of “Iä” people always seem to pronounce the word without the umlaut; the “¨” above the “a”. I don’t know if Lovecraft meant for the umlaut to change the pronounciation, or If he just thought it looked cool (Motörhead-style).

    If you take the umlaut into consideration however the “ä” would be pronounced “æ”, or like the “a” in “any”.

    But as with all Lovecraftian words there isn’t one correct pronounciation.

    Just my two cents (and damn I typed “prounciation” a lot in this comment).

  18. Ia ia is pronounced “Eye-ah Eye-ah””. Translated it is “Yes Yes”. These things are explained in the stories….

  19. Ia ia roughly translates to rejoyce rejoyce.

  20. Really??? I go looking because I am a serious student of the occult and here we have kids ranting about pronunciation??? Where are the scholars? BTW, there IS a Necronomicon, You can buy it… There is also a translated copy of the Egyptian, Necronomicon ie. Book of the dead.

Leave a Reply

