I got the news

When I started in the business, many newspapers (including the one where I now work) realized they needed Web sites, but couldn’t bring themselves to post any news there. “Why post for free what we charge paying subscribers for,” publishers asked. Indeed, a visit to the Wayback machine shows that the Connecticut Post‘s first Web site had just about everything but news.

According to a British study, young people have gotten used to the idea of free news.

One response to “I got the news

  1. Hi Ed – that Wayback machine URL – web.archive.org – is great. The Hartford Courant’s website has gone through so many reincarnations, I’d forgotten what it used to look like back when I started almost a decade ago. V. cool!

Leave a Reply

